Year 8 motto - "Be kind"

HEAD OF STUDENT PROGRESS YEAR 8

Mr Tom Stacey - TST@cheney.oxon.sch.uk

Telephone – 01865 755278

PASTORAL LEADER YEAR 8

Ms Rachael Clear - RCL@cheney.oxon.sch.uk

Telephone - 01865 755272

The Year 8 Team are based downstairs in John Brookes.

Reporting Absence - Please note:  Year Teams are not able to record your child’s absence. In order to report your child as absent you must contact Attendance as early as possible using the online form at: Cheney School Student Absence, by emailing at: RHW@cheney.oxon.sch.uk or by calling and leaving a message at: 01865 765726 - Option 1

YEAR 8 KEY DATES, 2021-2022

Tuesday 31 August and Wednesday 1 September: School closed for INSET

Friday 3 September: first day of school for Year 8 students

Thursday 23 September: Half day (to prepare for Y6 Open Evening)

Monday 1 November: School closed for INSET

Thursday 11 November: Year 8 Parents' Evening

Friday 3 December: School closed for Well-being Day

Monday 3 January: School closed for INSET

Friday 14 January: Year 8 HPV vaccinations

Monday 28 February: School closed for INSET

Student Quick Links

Tutor Team Year 8

TU 1 Ed Stapley - est@cheney.oxon.sch.uk

TU 2 Sophie Mills - smills@cheney.oxon.sch.uk

TU 3 Dan McAteer - dmc@cheney.oxon.sch.uk

TU 4 Annie Hull - ahull@cheney.oxon.sch.uk

TU 5 Dan Shaw- dshaw@cheney.oxon.sch.uk

TU 6 Adefolami Ogunrinade -  aogunrinade@cheney.oxon.sch.uk

TU 7 Martin Daniels - mdaniels@cheney.oxon.sch.uk

TU 8 Jen Horn - jho@cheney.oxon.sch.uk

TU 9 Katy Rigby - krigby@cheney.oxon.sch.uk

Tu 10 Alice Belfield /  Miles Otwell / Abigail Slater - abelfield@cheney.oxon.sch.uk / motwell@cheney.oxon.sch.uk / aslater@cheney.oxon.sch.uk

Cheney Book Canon - year 8 Choice

Refugee by Alan Gratz

refugee

JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany. With the threat of concentration camps looming, he and his family board a ship bound for the other side of the world ...

ISABEL is a Cuban girl in 1994. With riots and unrest plaguing her country, she and her family set out on a raft, hoping to find safety in America . . .

MAHMOUD is a Syrian boy in 2015. With his homeland torn apart by violence and destruction, he and his family begin a long trek toward Europe . . .

All three kids go on harrowing journeys in search of refuge. All will face unimaginable dangers -- from drownings to bombings to betrayals. But there is always the hope of tomorrow. And although Josef, Isabel, and Mahmoud are separated by continents and decades, shocking connections will tie their stories together in the end.